Sirius-ly.

I love my Sirius XM radio. What I do not love is the price. I first recieved Sirius as a free 6 month trial when I bought my Ford Fusion. After 6 months I decided to renew and noted that the variety of packages were all strangely priced. It seems like the cost was chosen at random but then there was a discount based on whether you were purchasing the service for 6 months, 1 year, or 2 years, whatever. And while the 1 year plan was supposedly the best value (save 74%!!), the cost per month was actually much lower for the 6 month plan. So I proceeded to pay $36 for 6 months and was happy. And then the promotion ended and my next bill came—$99! Absurd! But I was already late on payment so I paid with only a grumble. Just this past week I recieved another bill, again $99 for 6 months. No way. So I called up Sirius and (politely) asked if they had any better deals or else I would like to cancel my service. And wouldn’t you know it, I recieved 1 year for $104. Much, much better. Now, granted, it isn’t the $6/month I would have loved but I listen to my radio sooooooo much (I’m in a constant state of commute and traffic) that I swear it’s worth it.

Ok, with that off my chest, I now present you with my favorite songs that I discovered through Sirius first. (I should also probably mention that the stations I listen to are 70s on 7, 80s on 8, 90s on 9, The Pulse, The Coffee House, The Blend, Prime Country, The Highway, Outlaw Country, and The Heat.)

1. Guy That Says Goodbye to You is Out of His Mind- Griffin House

I LOVE this song. It’s everything that I could ever dream to hear from someone with a guitar and it makes me feel great about myself.

Fave line: Relationships I don’t know why / they never work out and they make you cry / but the guy that says goodbye to you / is out of his mind.

2. Cough Syrup- Young the Giant

I actually thought I was way ahead of the curve on this one, listening to a song that I thought no one knew. About a week later I heard it on Glee. Oops.

Fave lyrics: Life’s too short to even care at all oh / I’m coming up now coming up now out of the blue / These zombies in the park they’re looking for my heart / Oh oh oh oh

3. Red Hands- Walk Off The Earth

I first heard Walk Off The Earth because of their “Someone I Used to Know” cover (which I like better than the Goyte original). This song is catchy and I find myself listening to the entire song–a rare feat for me.

Fave lyrics: I’ve seen it all before, you back out, and everything’s changing /I needed something more, you stepped down, so what are you chasing?

4. F*ckin Problems – A$AP Rocky

Not sure why but I think this song is brilliant.

Fave lyrics: I love bad bitches, that my fuckin problem / And yeah I like to fuck, I have a fucking problem.

Also: Then just drop down and get yo’ eagle on / Or we can stare up at the stars and put the Beatles on

Also: She eyeing me like a nigga don’t exist / Girl, I know you want this di–/ Girl, I’m Kendrick Lamar / A.K.A. Benz-is-to-me-just-a-car

ALSO: Halle Berry, hallelujah / Holla back I’ll do ya

5. Beer Money- Kip Moore

This song always makes me happy, even on the morning commute.

Fave lyrics: So Come on, come on, / Baby, I’m buying / I got enough to last us all night and /You got the kiss that tastes like honey / And I got a little beer money

6. Whole Enchilada- Keb’Mo’

Fave lyrics: Now that you gotta whole enchilada / now that you gotta / Are you gonna be any better  / than the man you had to be to get her?

7. Leave You Alone-Young Jeezy

Fave line: Let me be your mind reader, let me read your mind /And when I’m done with the front, hit it from behind

8. Work Out- J. Cole

J. Cole’s borrowing from Paula Abdul’s “Straight Up” is what originally got me hooked. Now this is my jam while dance running on the elliptical.

Fave lyrics: That’s unfair but / So is life, take a chance roll a dice / Money can’t buy you love cause it’s overpriced

Also: Move slow, cause you wanna live fast / Up late so you’ll probably skip class

Leave a Reply

